10 years of
One Thousand Hockey Legs
>> HWL 2015 Wallpapers
>> Men's HWL Wallpapers
>> Men's HIL Wallpapers
>> Men's Team Wallpapers
>> Women's Team Wallpapers

Domestic Hockey
Print Icon   Email Icon Back
Champions Colleges Cup starts this week (2/27/2012)
--s2h team
The 19th SAIL-Nehru Champion Colleges Hockey Tournament open to the Champion Colleges of the 12 best hockey playing Universities in the country will be held at the Major Dhyan Chand National Hockey Stadium, New Delhi from 28th February to 5th March, 2012. As in the previous year, the tournament is again being sponsored by the

Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL) and is organized jointly by the Jawaharlal Nehru Hockey Tournament Society and the Association of Indian Universities.

A list of the Universities along with names of their Champion Colleges taking part in the tournament is enclosed. The tournament will be inaugurated by Shri Narinder Batra, Secretary General, Hockey India at 2.00 P.M. The inaugural match will be played at 2.30 P.M. between St. Xavier’s College, Kolkata and Al-Ameen College, Bangalore.

The object of the tournament is to promote the National game of Hockey in the University Sector. Since its inception in 1993, the Colleges Tournament has generated considerable interest for the game among the collegiates and also in improving its standard.

With a view to provide incentive to the teams, the tournament, as in the case of other four annual tournaments organized by the Society, will carry a cash Prize of Rs.2,08,000/- to be distributed among the winning teams.

The Finals will be played on 5th March, 2012 at 3.00 P.M. Shri C.S. Verma, Chairman, SAIL, Guest of Honour and Shri Ajay Maken, Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports has very kindly consented to be the Chief Guest and distribute the Prizes.

Stick2Hockey App on android
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Discussion Board
Write a Message
Your Message
Replying  Message Close
Your Message