10 years of
One Thousand Hockey Legs
>> HWL 2015 Wallpapers
>> Men's HWL Wallpapers
>> Men's HIL Wallpapers
>> Men's Team Wallpapers
>> Women's Team Wallpapers

Domestic Hockey
Print Icon   Email Icon Back
Kurukshetra Univ & M.G. Kashi enter last four (12/22/2009)
--Satish Sharma (Rourkela)
ROURKELA : (21-12-09) Kurukeshtra University and M.G.kashi vidyapeetha, Varanasi have entered into last four by topping their respective groups. Kuruskeshtra will meet Guru Nanak Dev University (Amritsar) while M.G.kashi Vidyapeetha will face host Sambalpur university in semifinal to be played on 22nd December.

Both Kurukeshtra and Varansi teams won their last league matches by identical 4-0 margin against their rivals. In group B Kurukeshtra defeated L.N.I.P.E., Gwalior 4-0. Harmeet drew first blood for kurukeshtra in 9th minute when he converted a penalty corner. Later Gurbhay in 22nd minute, Dhyan Singh in 27th minute and Ajay Sharma in 33rd minute added three more goals.for Kurkeshtra team

Akram Khan and Jayanta kerketta were the umpires.

In an important match of group C M.G.Kashi Vidyapeetha, dashed the hopes of Punjab university, Chandigarh by beating them 4-0. Handful spectators who were present at the Biju Patnaik hockey stadium had hoped for a close match but it turned out an easy affair for Varanasi team.

Varanasi went into attack from the begining and earned a penalty corner into very first minute. Deepak Yadav utilised this chance and put his team ahead. In 22nd minute varanasi earned their second penalty corner and this time Abhishek Singh made it 2-0. After the change over of sides Sunil Sonkar (47th minute) and Javed Ali (53rd minute) scored more goals for Varanasi.

Jayanta kerketta and Amulya Behera were the umpires.

In other inconsequential matches of the day G.N.D.U.Amritsar beat Rajasthan Univesrity, Jaipur 3-1. For GNDU Jagbir Singh (2nd minute), Bikram jeet Singh (5th minute), and Prem kumar (21st minute) scored the goals. Sunil Kumar scored lone goal for Rajasthan.

S.Toppo and Fabian Samad were the umpires.

Annamalai University (Chidambaram) beat Jammu Univesity 4-0 in group A. Naveen Sekhar (5th minute), Maheswarang (10th and 38th minute) and Samual (41st minute) scored goals for the winners.

Akram Khan and J.Kerketta were umpires.

In group B Madras Universitydefeated Ranchi University 2-1. J.Maria Stalin (10th minute) and S.Manoj (31st minute) scored for Madras while Ravi Xess scored the solitary goal for Ranchi in 34th minute.

A.K.Behera and Fabian samad were the umpires.

In group C Jabalpur University defeated Bharti dashan (Trichi) by a solitary goal. Afsar scored the goal off a penalty corner in 26th minute.

Bijaya lakra nad Jayanta kerketta were the umpires.

On 22nd December in first semifinal host Sambalpur University will meet M.G.Kashi Vidyapeetha, varanasi (9 AM) and second semifinal Kurukeshtra University will clash with GNDU, Amritsar (11 AM).

Stick2Hockey App on android
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Discussion Board
Write a Message
Your Message
Replying  Message Close
Your Message