10 years of
One Thousand Hockey Legs
>> HWL 2015 Wallpapers
>> Men's HWL Wallpapers
>> Men's HIL Wallpapers
>> Men's Team Wallpapers
>> Women's Team Wallpapers

Domestic Hockey
Print Icon   Email Icon Back
Surjit Cup: IOC and Indian Railways in the finals (11/4/2015)
--s2h team
Surjit Cup: Indian Oil Mumbai will take on Indian Railways in the finals

Jalandhar November 4, 2015: Holders Indian Oil Mumbai will clash against Indian Railways in the finals of 32nd Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament here on 5th November at 7-00 PM at Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium. The Winners will bag Rs 5 Lakh Cash and Trophy where as Runners up will get Rs 2.50 Lakh and Trophy. The Player of the tournament will get Rs 25000/- Cash. PTC News Channel will telecast live the Finals of the tournament.

Today in the first semi finals Holders Indian Oil Mumbai beat Army XI by 8-2 and in second semi finals Indian Railways beat Punjab & Sind Bank Delhi by 3-1 to enter finals. Indian Oil Mumbai entered in finals for the 10th time and they have won the title for four times where as Indian Railways entered the finals for the first time and they stopped Punjab Sind Bank from making space in the finals for the 17th time.

Parminder Singh Dhindsa, Finance Minister Punjab and Som Parkash, Chief Parliamentary Secretary Punjab were introduced with the teams along with Pargat Singh, MLA Jalandhar Cantt and Kamal Kishore Yadav, DC Jalandhar. Parminder Dhindsa announced two lakh grant to the Surjit Hockey Society. In his address he said that in the coming Budget Punjab Govt will make provision to give fix grant to the organizers of the tournaments.

In the first semi finals holders Indian Oil Mumbai dominated the proceeding against Army XI. Indian Oil took lead in 13th minute when Captain Olympian Deepak Thakur sounded the board (1-0). In the very next minute Bharat Chikara didn’t waste any time to consolidate (2-0). In 17th minute Oilmen’s Sunil Yadav converted the first penalty corner (3-0). In 19th minute army after trailing by 3 goals mounted pressure and their Chandan Aind scored field goal from left flank( 1-3). In 24th minute Indian Oil’s Sunil Yadav netted the ball from second penalty corner (4-1). At half time Indian Oil was leading by 4-1.

In second half Indian Oil’s Sunil Yadav scored his third goal and from the fourth penalty corner (5-1). In 46th minute Army XI’s Siraj A P converted the first penalty corner to reduce the margin (2-5). In 50th minute Indian Oil’s experienced forward Deepak Thakur sounded the board after breaking Army’s defence (6-2). In 57th minute Indian Oil’s Sunil Yadav converted another penalty corner (7-2). In 62nd minute of the game Shivdeep Singh of Indian Oil struck field goal making the score(8-2).

In second semi finals, Indian Railways dominated the game in the early minutes. They took lead in 5th minute with first penalty corner conversion by Amit Rohidas (1-0). In the 9th minute Railways consolidated when Amit Rohidas netted penalty stroke (2-0). In 18th minute of the play Bank men reduced the margin from field goal of Sukhjit Singh (1-2). At half time Indian Railways was leading by 2-1.

In 51st minute Indian railways consolidate when Amit Rohidas converted the penalty corner (3-1). Bank men were not able to reduce the margin.

Stick2Hockey App on android
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Discussion Board
Write a Message
Your Message
Replying  Message Close
Your Message